Simply Moving Forward

Seasons. I love having seasons. 

When I lived in Florida, the year was one long season of humid, awful summer. 

And now I have seasons, granted I enjoy some more than others after surviving 3 Wisconsin winters…

But the point is, I love them, anyway. I love the change. I love that you get to see the world in different stages of life throughout the seasons. You get to watch plants grow and kids develop over the school year. You get to see the true glory of freshly fallen snow on a Winter night. You get to feel a renewal of energy as Spring peaks out of Winter. You get to enjoy the beautiful summer and feel the yearn for Fall weather by September. Every season has a purpose. 

I think that we, as people, go through our own seasons. I think our seasons are individualized for each of us. There are seasons of growth, and seasons of stagnation. There are seasons of independence, and seasons of dependence. There are seasons of happiness, and seasons of grief. There are seasons of community building, and seasons of loneliness. There are so many seasons. 

I think I am in a season of moving forward. 

Image

It has been a big month for me. A lot of hard work and commitment has come to fruition this month. I had midterms and a bishop election and I changed my major! I had a lot invested in this month. I did a lot of studying, a lot of homework, a lot of research, a lot of talking,  a lot of praying, a lot of thinking, a lot of planning, a lot of hoping. And then I took my midterms. And then the vote was cast. And then I declared a new major. 

All of that work was instantly put behind me. The grade was in. The majority was won. The major was changed. 

Everything I had been so excited about is now behind me. I don’t have midterms to stress over, an election to worry about, or a decision to make. Now I’ve found myself sitting back and wondering, well what do I do now?

And I’ve found myself in a season of moving forward. 

All that is left to do is take what God has given me and move forward with a grateful heart and willing spirit. 

God has provided me with so many good things over the past month. It’s time to take those things and move forward. 

But, it’s hard to let go of our hard work and move forward. 

It’s hard to wave good-bye to drop of sweat, every prayer, every thought you invested in something and move forward with energy and excitement. It’s hard to let go and move forward.

Image

But that is what the season of moving forward is all about. It’s about turning away from the past and looking to the future. It’s about placing your trust in God to lead you into the next season. It’s about not being afraid of working hard again, and investing your time and energy again. It’s about knowing that there are greater things still to be done.

Image

It’s time to pick up the book and start studying again, it’s time to pray for our new bishop and for the future of the diocese, it’s time to plan the next few years of classes. 

It’s time to ask God how you can begin to serve him again. 

It’s time to take this season of moving forward for everything it’s worth. 

Psalm 32:8 says “I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you with my loving eye on you.”

Our God will guide us through our seasons of life. We just have to be willing to take the first step and move forward.

So when the time comes for your season of moving forward, I hope you take it on with a willingness to follow our Lord. I hope you are not afraid to let go of the past to embrace the future. I hope you enjoy your season of moving forward.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

