Simply Content

You know when people ask you how you are doing and you usually say “Oh, I’m doing well,” or “I’m doing wonderful,” or something along those lines? Have you ever heard anyone say “Well, I’m just perfectly content!”

I’ve never heard that. In fact, I’ve always thought that the word “content” has some kind of negative connotation. Like, oh, I’m not happy, but I’m not sad. I guess I’m just content. Just content. 

But here’s the thing, the state of being content is actually a really cool thing. Good ol’ dictionary.com says that to be content is to be “satisfied with what one is or has; not wanting more or anything else.”

I wish that being content was the movement right now. Instead of being the prettiest or the smartest or the funniest or the best at ________, I wish we could all strive to be truly content. 

I think a lot of us tend to fixate on the thought that if we could only do better on this exam, or if we could only get that job or get this car or whatever we would be more fulfilled; we would be happier. But I think it is a great deal more fulfilling to be able to see that we did our best on that exam, we have a decent job and a car that runs and know that it is enough. 

Image

To me, being in a state of contentedness is one of the best states you can be in. We need to stop trying so hard to be better than everyone else and instead take a minute to be satisfied with all that we have accomplished.

Image

 

 

When we can look in the mirror and be satisfied with who we are and what we have, I think we are much closer to our Father. 

The famous Psalm 23 says, “The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want.” The Message translation words it this way, “God, my shepherd! I don’t need a thing.” I think of it this way “My God is taking care of me! I need nothing else.”

Through our God, we can be content. He gives us the ability to look in the mirror and be satisfied, to know that we are enough. 

Image

 

So, in the coming days I hope you can look at who you are and what you have and feel simply content.

2 thoughts on “Simply Content

Leave a Reply

