Simple Relaxation

So I was having a rough day and my friend told me “Just stick it out, and do your best to relax.” To which I responded, “I’m trying. It’s so hard to relax.”

And then it suddenly occured to me Why is it so hard to relax? I mean, we’re not talking about running a marathon here, we’re talking about sitting in the sun or lounging on the couch.

Then I saw this:

Image

Take a minute and let that sink in.

Relaxation is a necessary part of living. In Genesis, it is written “By the seventh day God had finished the work he had been doing; so on the seventh day he rested from all his work. Then God blessed the seventh day and made it holy, because on it he rested from all the work of creating that he had done.” (Genesis 2:2-4)

Now I don’t know about you, but I have this unhealthy yearn to do. For example, this spring, after attending classes from 8 until noon, then studying in the library from 1 until 5, I would retreat to my dorm room and watch some Law & Order: SVU. And fifteen minutes into the episode I would sit there and think I really should be studying. 

And by March I was burnt out.

Relaxation is important. So imporant that God blessed a day of rest and made it holy. I think that we need to stop pretending that we’re too important to relax. 

Image

Busy is not the same as productive; relaxation is not the same as a waste of time.

Part of living simply is living to fulfill our basic needs. It is living to fulfill all that we are called to do. And we can’t fulfill either one of those if we don’t allow ourselves to recharge. Simply Relax.

Leave a Reply

